Autistic Adults Picture Project
Previous Picture | Page 5 | Next Picture


Ret

Name: Ret
Interests, hobbies, obsessions, perseverations etc: ANything to do with Carousels!!! KISS, children's rock band KIDEO, clowns, embroidery, various art projects, learning everything I can about Asperger's syndrome, singing, songwriting, travelling, masks, unicorns, anything to do with Niagara Falls, animation, surfing the internet.
Year of birth: 1964
Profession, area of study, etc: I am a self-employed artist who does hand embroidered T-shirts, dolls, puppets and all kinds of other wonderful stuff. I have my own CD of original songs and I am in the process of trying to form an Asperger's Syndrome support group in the Oshawa/Durham region!
Where you live in the world: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Marital status, # of kids etc.: Happily married to my husband Dave since July 13th, 2002. Childfree by choice!!!!!!!!!!!
Personal webpage url: http://margaretfranklin.netfirms.com
Comments: I was diagnosed with AS about a week before my 40th birthday and knowing what has made me different all my life has probably been one of the most wonderful, exciting and liberating things that has ever happened to me and been a major source of emotional healing in my life. I refuse to think of it as a "disability" or "disorder" but rather a DIFFERENT WAY OF THINKING!!! I like to think that God made us this way for a reason and I'm determined to find out why. We may be socially awward and people have had trouble liking us because we're considered "weird" and "strange", but God has given us so many unique and wonderous talents and abilities and there must be a way we can use them. I am in the process of starting a support group because I want other people in my sitution to find the same kind of emotional healing and confidence that I've recently discovered. Now, if only I could find a REAL job...(ha-ha!)

A2P2 Main Page