Autistic Adults Picture Project
Previous Picture | Page 5 | Next Picture


Manny and Rigel

Name: Manny and Rigel
Interests, hobbies, obsessions, perseverations etc: We share interests in legos, abstract math, computers and books (sci-fi and fantasy) . Rigel likes quilting and cross-stitching and Manny likes D&D. Our perseverations are currently on hold due to thoughts of pregnancy.
Year of birth: Manny 1968, Rigel 1973
Profession, area of study, etc: Manny: I work for a small software company that thankfully did not have a formal interview process.
Rigel: Just graduated with a degree in Environmental Studies/Geography (took 12 years). I hope to find a job in the next year, if not I will go back to school for a masters.

Where you live in the world: > We both live in Gold Hill, Oregon
Marital status, # of kids etc.: We have been together for 4 years, are currently trying to start a family. We have a wonderful dog, Gebaroo, two cats Artemis and Salena and two guinea pigs, Molly and Melissa.
Comments: We met on the internet, fortunately we were living in the same area. Rigel was previously diagnosed, and recognized Manny as an Aspie right away. As Rigel talked about AS and how it made her think and feel, Manny realized, "OH! That's what it is!". We have both grown leaps and bounds within our relationship. We attribute some of our success to our matched "issues" for instance, we are both audatorily sensitive, and so the volume in our home always stays low. The rest of our happiness comes from teamwork. It was an amazing thing to discover that we actually could work well with another person, if there was trust, tolerance and patience. We consider ourselves two of the lucky ones

A2P2 Main Page