Autistic Adults Picture Project
Previous Picture | Page 3 | Next Picture


Joy

Name: Joy
Interests, hobbies, obsessions, perseverations etc: Playing with children that are approximately 2 weeks old--four years old, child safety, animals (especially "wild" animals), communicating with plants, staring at the ocean waves for hours, finding small spaces to squeeze myself into, organizing things, climbing trees, autism spectrum (what this means according to different people), internet autism forums and email groups, reading non-fiction books about autism and also foreign cultures (all cultures are foreign to me, including the one I was raised in), listening to Garrison Keillor radio comedy tapes, listening to the same song over and over, drawing celtic knotwork, Paganism, astrology, transgender issues, quoting the few movies/shows I have seen over and over, quoting things I have heard people say, imitating animal noises, and the number three (and whole number multiples of three)... I do not have all these interests, etc at one time but rather these are interests, etc I have had at different times (some are recurring) in my lifetime.
Year of birth: 1981
Profession, area of study, etc: Child-care provider of one small child
Where you live in the world: Pacific Northwest (USA)
Marital status, # of kids etc.: (Same-sex) Just married!!! (in March 2004)
Comments: I have no official diagnosis from a doctor or professional as of yet but I do have my self-diagnosis, and diagnosis now from my parents and a few friends, that I have Aspergers. I am an aspie and although I have troubles with certain things (like social gatherings, crowds of loud people, sensory overloads, and other things), I am happy to be me. My spouse is aspie/autistic friendly and she helps me a lot...

A2P2 Main Page