Autistic Adults Picture Project
Previous Picture | Page 5 | Next Picture


Charles

Name: Charles Greer
Interests, hobbies, obsessions, perseverations etc: Music has always been what holds me together while I spin from one obsession to another. For the last few years its been databases and geography, convenient since I'm paid to do those things well. I'm also into languages and linguistics and orthography, especially the Balkans.
Year of birth: 1970
Where you live in the world: I live in Sonoma County, California.
Marital status, # of kids etc.: Married with two kids. Talk about an excellent chance to learn yourself and others -- it was my older boy taught me to find you all, and my whole family who've helped me learn to communicate in a reasonable fashion.
Comments: From high school through graduate school I always studied far-off places, other languages, always more comfortable among people who really couldn't expect me to be much like them. Self-knowledge is freeing.
It's been noted that the Balkans are a spectral phenomenon... that perceptions in that region are generally that those to the South and East are "more Balkan than us" and the North and West are "more European." Breaking down categories into spectra is not only fun, but has helped me find my mental place.
It's been several years now that I've settled comfortably into being an Aspie. Before learning about it (from having an excellent son who shares this... blessing?) For a long time I figured that I was just an unredeemable misanthrope (and still look the part!). The greatest thing about this world community of Wrong Planet folks is that there's so much damn good company!


A2P2 Main Page